Skip to main content

Editorial Board

Alex Goodridge, Editor

New Content Item (1)Alex is an Associate Editor at the BMC series. Before joining BMC, Alex completed a BSc in Biological Sciences and a MSc in Molecular Biotechnology at the University of Birmingham, before working in industry for a few years as a research scientist at a medical development company, where his role was to develop new immunodiagnostic assays for various biomarkers. Most recently, Alex completed his PhD research in Algal Biotechnology at Durham University, where he worked on a project to develop seaweed biomass as a feedstock for biofuel production using various biochemical and biophysical techniques. Alex now looks forward to promoting open access publishing and reproducible research in his role at BMC.

Dr Alex Goodridge, BMC, London

Senior Editorial Board Members
Chaisiri Angkurawaranon, Chiang Mai University, Thailand
Jean-Francois Chenot, University Medicine Greifswald, Germany
Paul Van Royen, University of Antwerp, Belgium

Editorial Board Members
Suraya Abdul Razak, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Malaysia
Loai Albarqouni, Bond University, Australia
Mubashir Arain, University of Alberta, Canada
Bengt Arnetz, Michigan State University, USA
Salla Atkins, Tampere University, Finland
Christopher Barton, Monash University, Australia
Sudip Bhattacharya, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, India
Gallus Bischof, University of Lübeck, Germany 
Aleksandra Borek, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Joanne Brooke, Birmingham City University, UK
Fatma Goksin Cihan, Necmettin Erbakan University, Meram Faculty of Medicine, Turkey
Jamile Codogno, Sao Paulo State University, Brazil
Claire Collins, Irish College of General Practitioners, Ireland
Paolo Giorgi Rossi, Agency for Public Health, Lazio, Italy
Kristen Glenister, University of Melbourne, Australia
Katja Goetz, University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Indiran Govender, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Pramendra Prasad Gupta, B.P.Koirala Institute of Health Sciences, Nepal
Peter Haastrup, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Christopher Harrison, University of Sydney, Australia
Emma Healey, Keele University, UK
Lloyd Hughes, NHS Tayside, UK
Gabriel Iloh, Rhema University Nigeria/Federal Medical Centre, Umuahia, National Postgraduate Medical College Of Nigeria, Nigeria
Donata Kurpas, Wroclaw Medical University, Poland
Pauline Siew Mei Lai, University Malaya, Malaysia
Yew Kong Lee, University of Malaya, Malaysia
Lian Leng Low, Singapore General Hospital, Singapore
Kristiana Ludlow, The University of Queensland, Australia
Jo-Anne Manski-Nankervis, University of Melbourne, Australia
Jose Mira, University Miguel Hernández, Spain
Csaba Moczar, Irinyi Health Center, Hungary
Yousef Moradi, Kurdistan University of Medical Sciences, Iran
Toshio Naito, Juntendo University, Japan
Raymond O'Connor, University of Limerick, Ireland
Kate O'Donnell, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
Lieve Peremans, University of Antwerp, Belgium
Nadine Pohontsch, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, Germany
Constance Dimity Pond, University of Newcastle, UK
Filipe Prazeres, University of Beira Interior, Portugal
Maja Racic, University of East Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Graham Reid, The University of Western Ontario, Canada
Ingmar Schäfer, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, Germany
Simon Schwill, University Hospital Heidelberg, Germany
Jean Soler, European General Practice Research Network
Jens Søndergaard, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Asvini Subasinghe, Humanity Unearthed, Australia
Tony Kai Sing Sun, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Wade Thompson, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
Zoi Tsimtsiou, Aristotle University Thessaloniki, Greece
Shilpa Tyagi, MOH Office for Healthcare Transformation (MOHT) and National University of Singapore, Singapore
Mohamud Verjee, Weill Cornell Medicine, Qatar
Kristie Weir, The University of Bern, Switzerland
Martin Wong, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
Samuel Wong, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Hakan Yaman, Akdeniz University, Turkey
Beibei Yuan, Peking University, China
Chengchao Zhou, Shandong University, China

Editorial Advisors
Margaret Cupples, Queen's University Belfast, UK
Martin Duerden, Cardiff University, UK

Annual Journal Metrics

  • Citation Impact
    2.634 - 2-year Impact Factor 2021
    3.301 - 5-year Impact Factor 2021
    1.339 - SNIP (Source Normalized Impact per Paper)
    0.836 - SJR (SCImago Journal Rank)

    60 days to first decision for all manuscripts (Median)
    80 days to first decision for reviewed manuscripts only (Median)

    1,735,923 Downloads (2021)
    1896 Altmetric mentions 

Peer-review Terminology

  • The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal:

    Identity transparency: Single anonymized

    Reviewer interacts with: Editor

    Review information published: Review reports. Reviewer Identities reviewer opt in. Author/reviewer communication

    More information is available here

Sign up for article alerts and news from this journal